A new horizon is on the rise for East Africa as Somalia joins the long list of African countries to join the EAC

[December 15, 2023, Entebbe]

With formal membership, the Federal Republic of Somalia is now a part of the East African Community (EAC). This historic event demonstrates Somalia’s commitment to fostering regional collaboration and the potential of East African communities while it’s expanding its trade and investment opportunities by joining the EAC in the hope of contributing to the nation’s economic growth and improving the lives of its citizens. Somalia’s key geographical position, natural riches, and entrepreneurial people will be an asset to east African.

President H.E. Dr. Hassan Sheikh Mohamud highlighted the “strategic advantages” of being a member of the East African Community in his comments after the formal ceremony. “One of the key advantages of being an EAC member is that it facilitates the free movement of individuals as well as goods among member countries,” he said.

“As we seize a fresh opportunity in our history, the Immigration and Citizenship Agency of Somalia (ICA) is enthusiastic about collaborating closely with the East African Community Immigrations and other member country agencies to sustain Somalia’s commitment to advancing regional integration and facilitating smooth and secure travel to and from Somalia.” Said Mr. Ahmed Said Mohamed, the Director General of the Immigration and Citizenship Agency.

Immigration policies in the member countries will have a significant impact on how quickly and easily individuals may migrate between the EAC and Somalia.

Mr. Mohamed stated that “the leadership of the Immigration and Citizenship Agency of Somalia (ICA) is taking a great deal to facilitate this by putting in place the appropriate laws, regulations, and other frameworks to enable smooth regional movement of people, businesses, and goods, as well as to encourage cross-border cooperation between Somalis and wider communities of the block in a variety of industries and cultural interchange.

The East African Community is a regional intergovernmental organisation that aims to promote economic growth, regional integration, and cooperation among its member countries. It Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, Federal Republic of Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

Previous Officers of the ICA received advanced document verification training

Be Updated with us

 Aden Abdulle international Airport, Mogadishu, Somalia

Phone: +252614465000

Call : 2000

Email: info@immigration.gov.so

Useful Links

More Info

  info@immigration.gov.so / 2024  - Immigration and Citizenship Agency of Somalia